Photo courtesy of Patrick J. Hughes Photography

About the Delaware County Veterans Memorial Association

The Delaware County Veterans Memorial Association first was proposed
in 2013 as a way to recognize and pay tribute to fallen armed forces
members from Delaware County. Through the concentrated efforts of the
late Steve Neri, United States Marine Corps Veteran; the late Stan Short,
United States Marine Corps Veteran; and the late Linda Houldin, former
director of the Delaware County Historical Society in Newtown Square,
plans were put forward.

Thanks to the generous support of the land donor and major benefactor,
Claude de Botton and family, a plot of land donated to the cause became
the home of the region’s newest monument to military service. The dream
became a reality on May 11, 2013, when the monument was dedicated
in a solemn ceremony.

The imposing structure rises above a busy highway, welcoming
community members from all parts of the County to reflect, remember,
learn, and celebrate the history of the United States Armed Forces.

Among the Association’s accomplishments are onsite Flag Raising tributes
for deceased veterans; county-wide K-12 education programs both onsite
and conducted in schools, and recognition events honoring local veterans
and education leaders who are dedicated to keeping the Association’s
program moving ahead.

Board Members:

Joseph Daly


US Marine Corps Veteran, Police Chief, Springfield Twp.

Dennis Murphy

Vice President

US Army Veteran

Tonya Rieco, Esq.


National Realty Corp.

Ralph Galati

US Air Force Veteran

Christopher A. Young

US Air Force Veteran, Deputy Chief, Newtown Square Fire Department

Kathleen A. Breslin

Education Committee Chair

Brian Taylor

US Army Veteran

Bernie Sweeney

US Navy Reserves

Nicole de Botton Robinson

National Realty Corp.

Advisory Board:

  • Shakur Abdul-Ali
    US Army Veteran
  • Chad Allen
    US Marine Corps Veteran
  • Carmen P. Belefonte, Esq.
    US Army Veteran, Saltz, Mongeluzzi, Barrett & Bendesky
  • Russell Carter
    US Army Veteran
  • Mario Civera
    US Air Force Veteran
  • Nick DeBenedictis
    US Army Veteran
  • Guy Fizzano
    US Army Veteran, DCVMA Past President
  • Bill Kinney
    USMC Veteran, Veteran Organization Liaison 
  • Kevin Madden
    Delaware County Council Liaison 
  • Benjamin Napier
    US Army Veteran

Honorary Board:

  • Mrs. James D. Fordyce
    Gold Star Mother

  • Governor Tom Ridge
    US Army Veteran, Ridge Global

  • David Videon, Esq.
    US Navy Veteran

  • Hon Arlin M. Adams (Ret.)*
    US Navy Veteran
  • Sam Coco*
    US Army Air Corps Veteran
  • Anthony “Tony” Fizzano* 
    US Army Veteran

    *in Memoriam

Founding Members:

  • Claude de Botton
    Land Donor and Major Benefactor

  • Charles P. Sexton, Jr. [Honorary]
    US Marine Corps Veteran

  • Linda Houldin*
  • Steve Neri*
    US Marine Corps Veteran
  • Stan Short* 
    US Marine Corps Veteran

    *in Memoriam

Veterans Organization:

  • American Legion Post 805

  • Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 7390

  • MCL Gen. Smedley D. Butler DET 741

  • Civil Air Patrol Squadron 1007


The Delaware County Veterans Memorial Association does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, gender, disability, veteran status, sexual orientation, or age in any of its programs.